Data Protection/Ethics Self-Assessment Tool

Pilot Stage

The data protection and ethics self-assessment tool is currently still in the pilot stage. If you have any comments or suggestions for improvement, please contact the following e-mail address: desat-support@dsi.uzh.ch.

Login

The tool is only accessible within the network of the UZH (i.e. from outside only via VPN). Please log in using the following link to get your personal access link.

Login (via AAI)

What can you expect?

The Data Protection/Ethics Self-Assessment Tool is aimed at researchers who in any way involve persons or at least their data in their research (e.g. for surveys, experiments, observations, etc.) – regardless of whether the resulting data is anonymized or not.

Researchers can use the tool to assess which questions their project raises in terms of data protection and ethics and inform themselves whether they need to submit their project to the appropriate body (UZH Data Protection Law Section, Faculty Ethics Committee, cantonal data protection commissioner or cantonal ethics committee). The information and recommendations collected by the tool are finally summarized for the researchers in the form of a PDF document.

Data Protection

One of the main objectives of the self-assessment tool is to find out whether personal data is being processed and, if so, whether it is based on sensitive data or personality profiles. It also asks whether data is being processed by third parties. If the answer is yes, the data must be protected by a written contract.

Furthermore, it must be ascertained which law is applicable to the project. The cantonal IDG is always applicable when members of the UZH process data, whereas the European GDPR is only applicable in special circumstances. Depending on the applicable law, different blocks of questions will be asked in the course of the tool.

The following question blocks aim to find out who has access to the data. Depending on the answer, it is recommended to use the corresponding templates provided by the Data Protection Department or to contact them. In addition, compliance with the legal transparency and validity regulations will be checked to ensure that consent has been validly obtained, that the principles of transparency and purpose limitation have been respected, and that processing is proportionate.

Finally, the necessary technical and organizational measures are pointed out. The data protection section ends with a risk assessment regarding data processing and a clarification as to whether a prior check with the cantonal supervisory authority is necessary.

Ethics

The ethics part of the self-assessment tool largely corresponds to the evaluation questions of the faculty ethics committees established at the UZH. The evaluation processes are not affected by the tool: in the case of a positive "ethics finding", the researchers are referred to the corresponding commission.

At the beginning, a number of questions are asked to determine whether the research project falls within the scope of the Human Research Act and must therefore be submitted to the Cantonal Ethics Committee (KEK) for review.

This is followed by questions to determine whether the study should be submitted to a facultative ethics committee. In particular, these questions concern whether vulnerable persons are included in the research, whether certain risks exist for these persons and also for the researchers themselves, and whether there are inappropriate dependencies, incentives or conflicts of interest between the persons involved. These questions also come up when the study has to be submitted to the KEK; they help to prepare an appropriate submission.

Datenschutz-/Ethik-Self-Assessment-Tool

Pilotphase

Das Datenschutz- und Ethik-Self-Assessment-Tool befindet sich derzeit noch in der Pilotphase. Falls Sie Anregungen oder Verbesserungsvorschläge haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an die folgende E-Mail-Adresse: desat-support@dsi.uzh.ch.

Login

Das Tool ist nur innerhalb des Netzwerks der UZH (d.h. von ausserhalb nur mittels VPN) erreichbar. Melden Sie sich über den nachfolgenden Link an, um Ihren persönlichen Zugangslink zu erhalten.

Anmeldeseite (AAI-Login)

Was erwartet Sie?

Das Datenschutz/Ethik-Self-Assessment-Tool richtet sich an Forschende, welche in irgendeiner Weise Personen oder zumindest deren Daten in Ihre Forschung einbeziehen (z.B. für Umfragen, Experimenten, Beobachtungen, etc.) – unabhängig davon, ob die daraus resultierenden Daten anonymisiert sind oder nicht.

Die Forschenden sollen mit dem Tool einschätzen können, welche Fragen ihr Projekt bezüglich Datenschutz und Ethik stellt und informiert sie, wann sie ihr Projekt dem entsprechenden Gremium (UZH Abteilung Datenschutzrecht, fakultäre Ethik-Kommission, kantonale Datenschutzbeauftragte oder kantonale Ethikkommission) vorlegen sollen. Die durch das Tool gesammelten Informationen und Empfehlungen werden für die Forschenden am Schluss in Form eines PDF-Dokuments zusammengefasst.

Datenschutz-Teil

Ein Hauptziel des Self-Assessment-Tools ist es herauszufinden, ob Personendaten bearbeitet werden und falls ja, ob diese besonders schützenswert sind oder zur Bildung von Persönlichkeitsprofilen genutzt werden. Ebenso wird überprüft, ob eine Bearbeitung von Daten durch Dritte stattfindet. Bei einer Bejahung der Bearbeitung durch Dritte müssen die Daten nämlich mittels eines schriftlichen Vertrags geschützt werden.

Des Weiteren muss in Erfahrung gebracht werden, welches Recht auf das Projekt anwendbar ist. Das kantonale IDG ist grundsätzlich immer anwendbar, wenn Angehörige der UZH Daten bearbeiten, die europäische DSGVO dagegen nur in besonderen Umständen. Je nach anwendbarem Recht, werden im Verlauf des Tools andere Frageblöcke gestellt.

Die darauffolgenden Frageblöcke wollen eruieren, wer Zugriff auf die Daten hat. Je nach Antwort wird die Verwendung entsprechender Vorlagen der Abteilung Datenschutzrecht oder eine Kontaktaufnahme mit dieser empfohlen. Überdies wird die Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Transparenz- und Gültigkeitsvorschriften überprüft, um zu klären, dass eine Einwilligung gültig eingeholt wurde, die Grundsätze der Transparenz und Zweckbindung eingehalten wurden, und die Bearbeitung verhältnismässig ist.

Abschliessend wird auf die notwendigen technischen und organisatorischen Massnahmen hingewiesen. Der Datenschutzteil endet mit einer Risikoeinschätzung betreffend die Datenbearbeitungen und einer Abklärung, ob eine Vorabkontrolle bei der kantonalen Aufsichtsbehörde notwendig ist.

Ethik-Teil

Der Ethik-Teil des Self-Assessment-Tools deckt sich weitgehend mit den Beurteilungsfragen der an der UZH bislang etablierten fakultären Ethik-Kommissionen. Die Beurteilungsprozesse werden durch das Tool nicht tangiert: im Fall des Vorliegens eines positiven «Ethik-Befunds» werden die Forschenden zur entsprechenden Kommission verwiesen.

Zu Beginn wird mit einigen Fragen geprüft, ob das Forschungsprojekt in den Geltungsbereich des Humanforschungsgesetzes fällt und deshalb der Kantonalen Ethikkommission (KEK) zur Prüfung vorgelegt werden muss.

Danach folgen Fragen zur Prüfung, ob die Studie einer fakultären Ethikkommission vorgelegt werden soll. Dabei geht es insbesondere darum, ob vulnerable Personen in die Forschung einbezogen werden, ob bestimmte Risiken für diese Personen und auch für die Forschenden selbst bestehen und ob unangemessene Abhängigkeiten, Anreize oder Interessenskonflikte zwischen den beteiligten Personen bestehen. Diese Fragen kommen auch, wenn die Studie der KEK vorgelegt werden muss; sie helfen bei der Vorbereitung einer entsprechenden Eingabe.